There are seven cervical vertebrae (C1 through C7), which are in the neck.

There are 12 thoracic vertebrae (T1 through T12), which are located in the upper back. There are five lumbar vertebrae (L1 through L5), which are found in the lower back.

Below those are five sacral vertebrae, which are fused to form the sacrum.

Finally, there are the four vertebrae of the coccyx, or tailbone.1

Source: NICHD (NIH)1


Types may include:2

Types of Vertebra:

Anatomy Articles

Read about these related anatomy topics:

   •   •   •


  1. Source: NICHD (NIH): health/ topics/ spinalinjury/ conditioninfo/ Pages/ default.aspx
  2. Source: NCI Thesaurus

   •   •   •

Note: This site is for informational purposes only and is not medical advice. See your doctor or other qualified medical professional for all your medical needs.