Sacral vertebrae

There are five lumbar vertebrae (L1 through L5), which are found in the lower back.

Below those are five sacral vertebrae, which are fused to form the sacrum.

Source: NICHD (NIH)1


Types may include:2

Types of Sacral Vertebra:

  • S1 Vertebra
  • S2 Vertebra
  • S3 Vertebra
  • S4 Vertebra
  • S5 Vertebra

Anatomy Articles

Read about these related anatomy topics:

   •   •   •


  1. Source: NICHD (NIH): health/ topics/ spinalinjury/ conditioninfo/ Pages/ default.aspx
  2. Source: NCI Thesaurus

   •   •   •

Note: This site is for informational purposes only and is not medical advice. See your doctor or other qualified medical professional for all your medical needs.