Neck muscles

Neck Muscles: The neck muscles consist of the platysma, splenius cervicis, sternocleidomastoid(eus), longus colli, the anterior, medius, and posterior scalenes, digastric(us), stylohyoid(eus), mylohyoid(eus), geniohyoid(eus), sternohyoid(eus), omohyoid(eus), sternothyroid(eus), and thyrohyoid(eus).1

   •   •   •

Neck Muscle: Any skeletal muscle located in the neck.2


Types may include:3

Types of Neck Muscle:

  • Digastric Muscle
  • Hyoid Muscle
  • Platysma Myoides
  • Scalene Muscle
  • Sternocleidomastoid Muscle

Categories for Neck muscles

Category of Neck Muscle:

  • Head and Neck Muscle

Anatomy Articles

Read about these related anatomy topics:

   •   •   •


  1. Source: MeSH (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
  2. Source: NCI Thesaurus
  3. ibid.
  4. ibid.

   •   •   •

Note: This site is for informational purposes only and is not medical advice. See your doctor or other qualified medical professional for all your medical needs.